Story: Shags

One-third of the world’s shag species are found in New Zealand, where they are icons of lake and coastal landscapes. The diverse shorelines and rich marine and freshwater resources offer many habitats for these elegant, straight-flying birds.

Full story by Gerard Hutching
Main image: ‘Kawaupaku, Te Henga’ by Don Binney

The Short Story

A quick, easy summary
Read the Full Story

Shags in New Zealand

Many New Zealanders have seen a long-necked shag sitting on a rock, or flying like an arrow above the sea. Worldwide there are 36 species of shag (also known as cormorants), and 12 of these are found in New Zealand. They are fully protected by law, except for the black shag.

Shags live mostly by the sea, but also near lakes and rivers. Around New Zealand there are many colonies, some with several thousand birds.

What do shags eat?

Some shags eat food from the sea, and others from fresh water, or a mixture of both. Their diet includes fish, crayfish, whitebait and frogs. Diving for their prey, they chase it underwater, where they can last a long time without air. Afterwards they flap their wings or spread them in the sun, to dry out quickly.

Black-footed shags

Shags are grouped according to their foot colour. In this group is New Zealand’s biggest and most common shag – the black shag, or kawau. There are up to 10,000 breeding pairs, which nest in trees. Landowners can shoot black shags if they damage crops.

Also in this group is the little black shag, which lives in both freshwater and coastal habitats of the North Island.

The smallest is the little shag, just 56 centimetres long, and found throughout the country. These birds have various white markings.

Pink-footed shags

The six species in this group are unique to New Zealand. The rare, black-and-white king shag is the largest, and can dive 40 metres deep. In 2001 there were only 650 king shags, on islands in the Marlborough Sounds. Other pink-footed shags live on Stewart Island, the Chatham Islands, and isolated Southern Ocean islands – the Bounty Islands, Auckland Island and Campbell Island. Stewart Island shags have two quite different forms – greenish black, and black and white.

Yellow-footed shags

The two species in this group also live only in New Zealand. When breeding, the spotted shag and the Pitt Island shag (Pitt Island is in the Chatham group) display black-spotted feathers and a double crest. There are about 30,000 pairs of spotted shags, which nest in rocks and cliffs, especially in the South Island. The Pitt Island shag lives in smaller groups. There are about 650 pairs.

You've read the short story, now
How to cite this page:

Gerard Hutching. 'Shags', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, updated 11-Mar-13