Story: King Country region

King Country town populations, 1916–2006

King Country town populations, 1916–2006

The King Country's three main towns – Te Kūiti, Taumarunui and Ōtorohanga – were all products of the region's opening up by the North Island main trunk railway line. However, they have had differing population histories. Te Kūiti and Taumarunui grew at approximately the same rate until the 1950s, but Te Kūiti’s growth then levelled off at a lower size and earlier than Taumarunui’s. Ōtorohanga was a much smaller town for many years, but narrowed the gap somewhat in the 1980s.

Note: Māori were not counted in the general population census until 1936.


About this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

Source: New Zealand census.

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock. 'King Country region - Population and society', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, updated 2-Feb-15